Battle of the Sharks

AAF-Houston hosted the annual Student Conference and Competition. The bright minds of these students lit up the room before the competition even started. 2017 sponsor, San Jacinto College, provided an assignment, and teams headed to a local agency, design firm, or in-house marketing department to develop a media campaign. Teams only had eight hours to construct an advertising campaign, including creative, research, marketing and media plans, and a live presentation. Each team was given 15 minutes to present their project.  Meanwhile, educators on the Professors’ tour visited MMI Agency and Richards/Carlberg.

“It was just amazing to be able to go see first hand how different, but personal each agency is,” said Marlene Smith of Stephen F. Austin State University.

Professor Larry Kelley and UH Students after the awards ceremony.

The panel of local judges studied and scored the student teams’ work to be awarded and announced at the awards ceremony on Saturday morning at the Houston Marriott.

“This was a great learning experience. It really helped me build my resume for future endeavors,” Katrina Madrinan commented. UH student and entrepreneur at heart, Katrina strives to perfect her advertising and computer graphics.

Thank you to all the host companies including Brivic Media, Channel 39, KPRC, KTRK, Cox Media Group, Love Advertising, Lopez Negrete, Skyline Displays, Zephyr Salvo, Moger Media, Univision, and Whole Wheat Creative. In addition, thanks to San Jacinto College and Freed Advertising for helping making this event a big success!


Winners of the Student Conference

1st place – Team 10; David Brouillette-LSU, Sunni Reilley-TAMU, Justin Rubenstein-TCU, Victor Henson-SFA, Kourtney Williams-SFA, Liz Moore-WTAMU, Alma Nwajei-UH.
2nd place – Team 8; Preston Pearson-TAMU, Josh Robertson-SFA, Margaret Mulcahy-TCU, Katrina Madrinan-UH, Makayla Barrientos-WTAMU.
3rd place – Team 4; Shantayvia Hart-UHD, Carolina Boyes-UH, Amanda Campbell-SFA, Mary Chacko-TAMU, Zoey Clark-TCU, Jocelyn Paz-SFA, Deon Egenti-SFA.